Having an fun and productive time at SFN

sfn17

SFN is only a few days away!

SFN is only a few days away! I have been attending SFN for the past several years, and I went for the first time as an undergraduate senior. My primary impression from that first trip was “wow, this is overwhelming but amazing.” Six years later, I have learned to navigate the meeting and embrace the chaos and avalanche of information. These are my strategies, and I hope you find them useful.

Before the meeting:
First, set your goal and/or intention for the meeting. For example, the first year I attended the meeting I was applying to PhD programs. Therefore, my goal was to talk to at least 2 faculty members at each university I applied to. My intention was to improve my chances of getting into my top choice graduate program. Last year, as a fifth year PhD candidate about to publish part of my research, my goal was to get feedback on my project. My intention was to improve the manuscript to publish it in a more prestigious journal.

Second, use the Neuroscience Meeting Planner! I start by searching for the last authors of papers I am very interested in and Principle Investigators of labs I’m interested in. By using the last author and PI names, you catch graduate students and post docs presenting the research from those labs. Then browse the lectures and professional development workshops. At the end of this, you have an overwhelming number of events, posters and lectures. That’s ok! Don’t worry about it. Star the ones that are your highest priority to help you decide at the meeting. I usually use the desktop website version to make my initial searches, and then download the app to my phone a day or two before the meeting so my itinerary is easy to access on site.