Annual Meeting Resource for Trainees

sfn17

This thread is for trainees attending the Annual Meeting for the first-time to connect with more experienced/veteran trainee attendees. The intention behind this initiative is to allow first-time attendees to seek advice about annual meeting sessions or events and to network.

Additional Resources

Live Chat | Get the Most Out of Neuroscience 2017
Live Chat | Get the Most Out of Neuroscience 2017

Hi there! My name is Liz Glover. I am a senior postdoc at the Medical University of South Carolina and am in the process of making the transition to my first faculty position. My research employs virally-mediated strategies to measure and manipulate circuit-specific projections to try to better understand the neurobiological mechanisms underlying addiction. I have been going to the annual Neuroscience meeting for over a decade now and would be happy to provide advice on how to manage your time at such a large conference, how to network at the meeting, and how to use the meeting to your advantage if you are looking to apply to graduate school or choosing a postdoc lab.

My name is Michael F. Wells from Columbus, Ohio. I am currently a Postdoctoral Associate at the Broad Institute of Harvard and MIT in the laboratory of Dr. Kevin Eggan. I have been attending the Society for Neuroscience conference since 2008 and have amassed a considerable amount of experience navigating the 5 days of science and social events. As such, I am looking to help any trainees who may have questions about scientific sessions related to my field, which is human and animal models of neurodevelopmental disorders. I could also be of some assistance with helping trainees find social events that fit their research interests.