An opportunity to create a workshop I wanted to go to: SFN Professional Development Workshops

sfn17

At SFN 2017, I led the Professional Development Workshop “A Practical Guide to Science Communication.”

Professional Development Workshops are a great way to get some highly visible leadership experience at the conference and make connections with people with similar interests. As a graduate student, I did not initially think I would be qualified to run a workshop, but I said to myself,

“the answer is definitely no if you do not ask.”

Therefore, I put in a proposal for a professional development workshop in early 2017. Here is a brief summary of my experience in hopes that you may find yourself inspired to submit a proposal for SFN 2018.

I proposed a workshop on science communication pitched as primarily facilitated discussion rather than a panel of speakers. Here, my personal bias is obvious: I find that connecting with and understanding your audience is crucial to succeeding at science communication. Therefore, my workshop proposal focused on developing a flexible research story that could be easily adapted to connect with a particular listener or group of listeners.

Workshop Description: Participants will develop science communication skills during this active workshop. First, participants will create a short, compelling story for their research. Then, participants will develop a flexible strategy to share their scientific story with any audience. Strategies for being clear, concise and compelling will be discussed. This workshop will provide a short introduction to the core skills needed to successfully communicate science with anyone.