Transitioning from the Bench to a Career in Policy Consulting

Eli Kane

This resource has been adapted from the webinar Transitioning from the Bench to a Career in Science Policy, which took place June 15, 2021. Watch the full recording on Neuronline.

Dr. Amy Hein is a Senior Director of Strategic Staffing at Ripple Effect.

Dr. Amy Hein

As you look at what options you have next, I just wanted to highlight the importance of science policy fellowships.

I did a PhD in neuroscience. I went to all the SfN conferences and presentations and I did the abstract submissions. During my postdoc, I realized I wanted that higher level perspective, but I also had practical reasons for thinking about next steps. I married into the military and realized very quickly that that was going to involve a lot of relocation.  It was unlikely to fit into an academic career or even a Federal Government career, both of which require you to be in a particular location. I started looking into what other options would be better suited to frequent relocation and allow for some more flexibility, so I did two different fellowships. You've heard about a couple already, including the Mirzayan fellowship with National Academies of Science. That was the first one, and it definitely gave me the bug for science policy. Then, after going back to my postdoc for a little while, I went into the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Science and Technology Policy Fellowship. If you haven't heard of that look it up. The Mirzayan fellowship is a three-month fellowship that gives you a quick dose and throws you in. The AAAS fellowship is a one- or two-year fellowship. There are a couple of different avenues to get into the AAAS fellowship through different professional societies, as well as the AAAS directly. In that fellowship, you usually get placed with a federal agency supporting it directly. That’s a valuable opportunity to get an in-depth and longer perspective of supporting the Fed